Week 1: Restoration Betty Project

I have now begun the biggest piano project I’ve ever undertaken. Betty. She’s a 1931 McPhail baby grand piano. There is a lot of work to be done, I must say. A lot of the work that needs to be done I’ve never even tried before. I’m looking at this as another college degree in Piano Restoration. I’m a confident player, tuner, technician, and repurposer/artist. This is a whole new ballgame, though, folks. I’m eager. I’m overwhelmed. I’m excited! So, here goes. I’ll be blogging weekly and posting pictures of my progress from start to finish. When Betty is complete she will be gorgeous, I just know it! To me, she already is, but I’m obsessed with pianos.

Image

Here’s what I’ve done so far:

I’ve removed the action and keys and started removing the dampers. 

Image

There is so much dust and grime, that I’ve begun cleaning. I’ve only just started as it’s going to be a big job in itself. I’ve also begun removed the hammers and stickers. I’m cleaning each sticker and numbering the hammers. The treble hammers will definitely have to be replaced. I’m not sure about the mid and bass sections, yet. Hopefully, they can get away with filing, but I’ll likely end up replacing them all with nice, new hammers.

Image

I’ve realized quickly (which I really knew already) that every piece of felt needs to be replaced. I’ll be ordering lots and lots of felt and punchings (which are little felt circles). I can’t wait to keep working! 

Leave a comment